E-mail Print PDF

This year marked the 35th Anniversary of Women In Film. The organization celebrated by honoring, at the 2008 Crystal+Lucy Awards, some of the most creative, productive and socially responsible individuals in our industry, people who lead by example. The gala dinner, in support of Women In Film, Los Angeles and its many educational and philanthropic programs, was held in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.


The 2008 Crystal Award for excellence in film was presented to Diane English, together with the stellar cast of her female tour de force, “The Women,” by Nancy Meyers. The 2008 Lucy Award for excellence in television was presented to Emmy winning actress/producer/director Salma Hayek by Lauren Shuler Donner. The 2008 MaxMara “Face of the Future” Award was presented to actress Ginnifer Goodwin by Mrs. Nicola Maramotti of MaxMara. The Paltrow Mentorship Award was presented to a woman whose career and life exemplify the very definition of mentorship, Sherry Lansing by producer Karen Rosenfelt. The Kodak Vision Award went to cinematographer Mandy Walker, and was presented by actress Tracee Ellis Ross. Jeffrey Katzenberg, Chief Executive Officer of DreamWorks Animation SKG, was presented with the Norma Zarky Humanitarian Award by Cameron Diaz. Maria Bello presented an in memoriam tribute to renowned director, producer and actor Sydney Pollack.

The honorees were announced in May by WIF, LA President, Jane Fleming, who said “To celebrate our 35th year, Women In Film is privileged to honor these remarkable women, whose accomplishments and diversity reflect the core values upon which our organization is built. Their determined and hard-won efforts to realize their artistic visions have yielded extraordinary results, in not just one, but multiple arenas in the creative marketplace. These honorees prove that women can excel across artistic and commercial boundaries: as writers and directors, actors and producers, executives and humanitarians, in television and in film. Together, their example shows how far we have come in 35 years, and provides us with hope and encouragement as Women In Film embarks on the next 35 years of supporting women in the entertainment industry.”

“Additionally,” said Fleming, “we are thrilled to honor Jeffrey Katzenberg, who’s philanthropic work on behalf of us all, and especially the entertainment industry during these challenging times, is without parallel.”

Two of the Industry’s most influential and accomplished studio leaders, Mary Parent, Chairman, Worldwide Motion Picture Group, MGM, and Stacey Snider, Co-Chairman and CEO of DreamWorks Studios, served as Honorary Co-Chairs for the 2008 Crystal+Lucy Awards Dinner.

Calm Down Productions, Inc.’s Lucy Webb returned as Executive Producer of the 2008 Awards and past Women In Film President, Iris Grossman, was Chair of the event for the second year. PricewaterhouseCoopers, MaxMara, Kodak, Perrier Jouët and City National Bank sponsored the event.



Join us on Facebook follow us on twitter watch our youtube channel

Photo Gallery